Reviews

Want to tell the world about your visit to Frances’? Toss us a nice review on Yelp or Facebook!

Madison C. Avatar

5 star rating Delicious and delectable brunch spot! Frances has one of the best (and largest) menus for brunch. There is something for everyone whether you prefer savory or sweet, breaky or lunch, or traditional or modern cuisine. Frances includes many flights on their menu if you're feeling adventurous. You can try their 4 drink mimosa flight tower, French toast flight, or waffle flight. Ambiance is bright and bubbly with background music and walls covered in brunching quotes and beautiful accent walls. Outdoor seating is limited and on the street but perfect for a bright and sunny day. Highly recommend for small groups, brunch dates, family breaky, or even a breaky after a night out!

Madison C. 9/12/2021
Megan F. Avatar

5 star rating My friend and I love coming here for weekend brunch. The wait is worth it! The food is consistently fabulous and the people watching is fun. Today we had a lovely server, Leah, who was so attentive and sweet! Thank you, Leah! We will be back again soon!

Megan F. 9/11/2021
Christa Vinson Avatar

Came for a little brunch date with the Mr. after a friends recommendation
and definitely not disappointed. Our food was fresh and delicious. Our watress was absolutely wonderful. The decor was nice. I really liked that it was indoor outdoor feel. Would recommend this place for anyone. Next time I'm definitely getting the mimosa flights.

Christa Vinson 9/10/2021
Lynn O. Avatar

4 star rating Well, the place was packed and the staff was very friendly.
My friend and I stopped in for brunch last weekend, for brunch. My friend enjoyed her eggs and potatoes very much. I always struggle with brunch because I am vegan and this time was no exception. The waiter suggested I get the sautéed vegetable platter, which I did, and I also ordered a toasted bagel with a side of peanut butter. They had no peanut butter so I had it dry, since I don't eat dairy. The vegetables were good and tasty, but it was about 85% potatoes. I was sorry I hadn't ordered from the build your own section, where I could have specified more vegetables (and less potatoes).
Overall, a fun, crowded, loud, popular place, just typically not a place I would urge a vegan to try.

Lynn O. 8/30/2021
Brian Sacco Avatar

Delicious meal and friendly service. Stopped in Friday afternoon, one of us had brunch (pancakes) and the other had lunch (turkey sandwich). Both were hot, tasty, and quick. Waitress was very friendly as were all staff. Atmosphere was nice. Can’t wait to go back!

Brian Sacco 8/26/2021
M Perez Avatar

Excellent service excellent food but don't order the turkey bacon cuz it tastes like cardboard

M Perez 8/24/2021
Kelly Andrews Avatar

Awesome chicken n waffles

Kelly Andrews 8/23/2021
Susan L. Avatar

4 star rating Been wanted to try this place. Came in for lunch and had their salads. It was pretty good but it does not come with any side bread or anything.

Susan L. 8/22/2021
Don C. Avatar

4 star rating Still makes the best turkey club in the city -- get it on sourdough toast.

The sweet potato fries were very tasty, but like their normal fries, not the perfect "crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside" texture from several years ago (please hire that person back, order at least pay him to train the new cook!)

The sound system has also deteriorated; it's now too bassy, so you mostly get a disco vibe, which is not very diner-like or conducive to conversation.

Don C. 8/20/2021
Alex C. Avatar

5 star rating I've walked past this place a few times on the weekends, but never stopped because it's always so busy. We had time to stop in for brunch during the week and so happy we did! Even on a muggy, 85 degree day, it felt nice inside with the windows open. My boyfriend and I both ordered a skillet. The chef's son was there and told us his favorite thing on the menu is the cinnamon roll pancakes. We didn't really want to buy a third full meal, but right then, the chef came out and said he'd give us the pancakes on the house! My bf is a huge pancake lover and said they're one of the best he's ever had. We can't wait to try lunch fare next time!

Alex C. 8/18/2021
Kelly A. Avatar

5 star rating This place was excellent
The food was super ... all love this way. Good didn't take long, orange juice was fresh and just a joy.

Kelly A. 8/18/2021
Ellen H Avatar

My new favorite brunch spot!
Pros
- Adorable atmosphere and cute patio
-Were able to bring our dog on the patio and they brought her water right away
-The staff was incredible. Every single person we interacted with was so friendly and upbeat. Our server helped us decide what to get and our food came quickly and was perfect.
- The food was insane. We got the french toast flight, the bacon flight, and the chicken and sweet potato waffles which were incredible.
-They were open on a Monday and sometimes its hard to find places open on a Monday

Cons
-None?? Parking was a little tricky (as it is everywhere else in the city) but we were able to find paid street parking close by on Clark

Ellen H 8/16/2021
Ellen H Avatar

My new favorite brunch spot!Pros- Adorable atmosphere and cute patio-Were able to bring our dog on the patio and they brought her water right away-The staff was incredible. Every single person we interacted with was so friendly and upbeat. Our server helped us decide what to get and our food came quickly and was perfect.- The food was insane. We got the french toast flight, the bacon flight, and the chicken and sweet potato waffles which were incredible.-They were open on a Monday and sometimes its hard to find places open on a MondayCons-None?? Parking was a little tricky (as it is everywhere else in the city) but we were able to find paid street parking close by on Clark

Ellen H 8/16/2021
David Earle Avatar

A huge menu! Food is always fresh and really good service.

David Earle 8/10/2021
Алексей Хабарков Avatar

Tasty dishes and good ambience!

Алексей Хабарков 8/09/2021
David Fachie Avatar

Great food and a fun place! Highly recommend!

David Fachie 8/07/2021
Chance Perry Avatar

I am visiting from Texas and this place is very close to my AirBNB. The host was very nice and sat us immediately, and the waitress took our order quickly and was very attentive. The food was great and didn’t take long at all to get to our table. Great experience.

Chance Perry 8/05/2021
Aisha Kimbrough Avatar

Cutest brunch spot! We wanted to try the chicken and waffles and skillet. Everything tasted delicious. The service was excellent! Very friendly staff and well-priced. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Chicago.

Aisha Kimbrough 8/04/2021