Reviews

Want to tell the world about your visit to Frances’? Toss us a nice review on Yelp or Facebook!

Robert Garnett Avatar

The food was amazing. Hot, fresh and delicious

Robert Garnett 2/26/2021
Jose C. Avatar

4 star rating We came here for our first dine once the city opened back up, so we were excited to have a nice warm meal served to us rather than doing take out. I honestly thought it would be more packed but it was rather empty when we first arrived. It quickly started filling up as we were finishing up. The staff was great and they even made some personal recommendations that made our meal taste a lot better. My wife ordered their biscuits and gravy. You get two big biscuits covered in a very tasty thick country gravy served with eggs and hash browns covered in cheese. The hash browns were really good as were the biscuits and gravy. I tried their Cluck-n-Gaufre (Chicken and Waffle). They serve a sweet potato waffle mixed in with chicken, topped with a fried chicken breast, served with hot sauce and syrup. I'm used to drizzling hot sauce on my chicken but they recommended to pour it all over the waffle since it had chicken in the waffle batter. I obliged and she was correct. It tasted amazing. I wasn't a big fan of their chicken. It was little over cooked, lacking the juicy and tenderness that I loved in a perfectly fried chicken. They had a few other decent entrees on the menu the that the absolutely want to try on my next go around. I'll definitely be back.

Jose C. 2/17/2021
Gustav Anderson Avatar

I am on a journey seeking out the most delicious sandwiches, and just came across at least one winner!! I had one of the new specials at Frances’ Deli!
Smoked Pastrami on challah: I went with the traditional route, Swiss cheese and kraut.
Every bite was it’s own Foodgasm!! Be back soon for other variations, and a picture before I finish!!! Yum!

Gustav Anderson 1/29/2021
Gustav Anderson Avatar

I am on a journey seeking out the most delicious sandwiches, and just came across at least one winner!! I had one of the new specials at Frances’ Deli!Smoked Pastrami on challah: I went with the traditional route, Swiss cheese and kraut.Every bite was it’s own Foodgasm!! Be back soon for other variations, and a picture before I finish!!! Yum!

Gustav Anderson 1/29/2021
Christina Conroy Avatar

Tasty menu, friendly staff, great location~I went to breakfast on a Friday morning with a friend and we ordered based on the waitstaff's recommendation. The portions are massive, the staff is very familiar with the menu, and the food tastes great. The restaurant is wheelchair accessible both inside and outdoors. I recommend this restaurant for a morning breakfast or brunch. Took off one star because the coffee/espresso drinks are abnormally large and not made with correct proportions.

Christina Conroy 1/15/2021
Christina Conroy Avatar

Tasty menu, friendly staff, great location~

I went to breakfast on a Friday morning with a friend and we ordered based on the waitstaff's recommendation. The portions are massive, the staff is very familiar with the menu, and the food tastes great. The restaurant is wheelchair accessible both inside and outdoors. I recommend this restaurant for a morning breakfast or brunch. Took off one star because the coffee/espresso drinks are abnormally large and not made with correct proportions.

Christina Conroy 1/08/2021
Helen Z. Avatar

4 star rating Frances has been on my list to try for a while given all the great reviews around its dining in brunch experience. But given everything going on, I wasn't comfortable dining in so I picked up instead (you can call in or order online ahead of time and reduce any wait time at the restaurant so do that). If you dine in, I heard very good things about the mimosa and french toast flights so try that out if you're interested. I was in the mood for a sandwich so I got the Reuben sandwich with sweet potato fries and a pickle. I am not a huge fan of sandwiches usually but the corned beef sandwich was so tasty! I didn't expect to like it that much but I did. The corned beef had a good balance of salt and seasoning and the challah bread I chose went well with it soaking in all the delicious corned beef taste. The sweet potato fries and pickle were good sides - a good mix of sweet and tartness. If I am already blown away by the sandwich, I cannot wait to come back and try the brunch specialties!

Helen Z. 12/11/2020
Good Vibes Avatar

Their food is tasty but definitely overpriced. Loved the idea of the waffle flight though.

Good Vibes 11/22/2020
shondrae lewis Avatar

Food was excellent but it didn't seem like they sanitized the tables between guests.

shondrae lewis 11/06/2020
Jennifer D. Avatar

5 star rating This is cutest spot! Great brunch ambiance and the food is GREAT! We all got the breakfast burrito and we're in love. Service was great as well. This is definitely a hidden gem in Lincoln park.

Jennifer D. 10/25/2020
Danielle G. Avatar

5 star rating I had been studying their menu for weeks in anticipation for brunch, during our Chicago trip. I had it all planned that I would get French toast. But that all changed! They had a lobster omelet as their weekly special, it was not listed on the main menu, but instead posted on the wall! Thank God the waitress told me about it! It was great! I was scared thinking they may skimp on the lobster or the lobster would be over cooked! Nope! Everything was cooked perfectly! My friend and I also got the mimosa flight, I think it was 4 different flavors. All very tasty!Will definitely be returning next time in Chicago! And I wish I could remember our waitress name she was so kind and patient with us!

Danielle G. 10/24/2020
LaToya Marshall Avatar

Excellent food! Great customer service!

LaToya Marshall 10/23/2020
Robin Lynn Avatar

Great Brunch, Lunch, and Drink spot. This place has been around for years and there's reasons for that. Good quality food, good service, fun, and some nice updates on menu/decor. Highly Recommend.

Robin Lynn 10/06/2020
Kiera D. Avatar

4 star rating I ordered a basic breakfast here & was so jealous of my friends who ordered sandwiches... this place was very good but I would stick to the lunch menu!We had a little mishap with mimosas - they ran out of the champagne glasses so we didn't get our drinks until after our food? I don't think we cared about the champagne glass that much!

Kiera D. 9/30/2020
M. V. Avatar

Reasonable prices, good quality food and great coffee! Yes, try their coffee. It also has a very nice and positive atmosphere. I am taking one point off since the wait-time could be 1 hour! In reality, it is 5/5 if you don’t care about waiting time. In summary, my friends and I visited this place and we all were happy about the service, price and also food quality. I am not a huge fan of pancakes, but I really liked what I got from here. Give it a try ...

M. V. 9/26/2020
Morgan Ransom Avatar

Adorable. lovely for a brunch with friends or a cute date. the food is fantastic and the employees are so nice. also the bathrooms are nongendered!!!

Morgan Ransom 9/24/2020
Sonya C. Avatar

5 star rating Super cute brunch place. Stopped in randomly when in town. Their mimosa selection is great!! Cute decor and fun atmosphere!

Sonya C. 9/24/2020
Josh Cota Avatar

The food is terrific and the service is even better!

Josh Cota 9/13/2020